TO MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Notice is hereby given that a special meeting of the Council of the London Borough of Bromley is to be held in the Council Chamber at Bromley Civic Centre on Wednesday 4 June 2014 at 6.00 pm, which meeting the Members of the Council are hereby summoned to attend.

Prayers

AGENDA

1 ADMISSION OF HONORARY ALDERMEN (Pages 3 - 4)

.....

To consider the attached report from the General Purposes and Licensing Committee recommending that the nominated individuals listed be considered for appointment as Honorary Aldermen by virtue of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Chief Executive

BROMLEY CIVIC CENTRE BROMLEY BR1 3UH Tuesday 27 May 2014 Vol.50 No.7 This page is left intentionally blank

Agenda Item 1

GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Extract from minutes of the meeting held at 7.00 pm on 26 March 2014

Present:

Councillor Tony Owen (Chairman) Councillor Russell Mellor (Vice-Chairman) Councillors Nicholas Bennett J.P., John Canvin, Roger Charsley, Roxhannah Fawthrop, John Getgood, Ellie Harmer, Charles Rideout, Diane Smith, Tim Stevens, Harry Stranger and Michael Turner

159 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN Report CSD14058

An informal cross party meeting had been held to consider potential Honorary Aldermen from amongst those Members known to be standing down at the forthcoming local election who had qualified by serving for three terms and rendering eminent service to the borough. A special meeting of the Council would be held just before the annual meeting on 4th June 2014 to make the appointments.

The Chairman recorded his thanks to Councillors Reg Adams and Peter Fookes who had assisted in considering the candidates.

RECOMMENDED that the following Members be nominated to full Council for appointment as Honorary Aldermen, as set out in the attached appendix –

Councillors Roger Charsley, John Getgood, Brian Humphrys, Mrs Anne Manning, David McBride and Ernest Noad.

Nominations for Appointment as Honorary Aldermen

COUNCILLOR	LENGTH OF SERVICE	POSITIONS HELD
Roger Charsley	May 2002 to May 2014 Mottingham and Chislehurst North Ward	Deputy Mayor. Vice-Chairman, Community Safety PDR Committee, Adult and Community PDS Committee. Executive Assistant, Community Safety.
John Getgood	May 2002 to May 2014 Penge and Cator Ward	Leader of the Labour Group.
Brian Humphrys	May 1986 to May 2014 West Wickham North/West Wickham Wards	Chairman, Education Committee and Education Operational Management Committee. Portfolio Holder for Children and Young People Executive Assistant, Children and Young People Vice-Chairman, Plans Sub Committees Chairman, SEN Working Group
Mrs Anne Manning	May 1998 to May 2014 Hayes/Hayes and Coney Hall Wards	Mayor. Chairman, Social Care Health and Housing PDR Committee. Chairman, Children and Young People PDS Committee. Chairman and Vice-Chairman, Plans Sub Committees. Vice-Chairman, General Purposes Committee. Executive Assistant, Children and Young People. Chairman, SACRE. Chairman, Duke of Edinburgh's Award Support Committee
David McBride	May 1998 – May 2014 St Mary Cray/Cray Valley East Wards	Mayor. Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group. Chairman and Vice-Chairman, Education Operational Management Sub-Committee. Vice-Chairman, Plans Sub-Committee.
Ernest Noad	May 2002 to May 2014 Shortlands Ward	Mayor. Deputy Leader. Portfolio Holder for Children and Young People. Executive Assistant for Children and Young People. Chairman, Children and Young People PDS Committee and Resources PDS Committee. Chairman, SEN and Child Safeguarding & Corporate Parenting Working Groups.